Amazon Now Collecting Sales Tax For 10 More States – Almost All The Population

According to Yahoo Finance (and elsewhere)

“The states in which shoppers are now subject to sales taxes on Amazon purchases are Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont and Wyoming.”

This brings the total to 39 states out of 45 that have a sales tax.

Let’s make this easier: What tax collecting states does Amazon NOT collect sales tax from yet (and their percentage of the US population): Alabama (1.53%), Oklahoma (1.22%), Arkansas (0.94%), New Mexico (0.66%), Idaho (0.51%), Hawaii (0.44%), Maine (0.42%), Wyoming (0.18%).

In total, Amazon is collecting sales tax for shipments to 94.1% of the population (including not collecting where there is no sales tax).  Amazon is not collecting sales tax for shipments to 5.9% of the population that reside in states with a sales tax.

Amazon is continuing to dominate e-commerce, along with other large companies like Wal-Mart, Home Depot and other large chains that already have a physical presence in most/all states so they already collect sales tax for their sales.

So where is all this uncollected use tax that requires a cross-state power grab, such as the Marketplace Fairness Act or RTPA?  It’s not there and such a sweeping and destructive law (to smaller sites) is not necessary at all.

Speak Your Mind